The Great Unknown

This double exposure photo by Oliver Morris reminds me of a photo I saw years ago of a forest edge, the clearing almost completely covered by foliage. I was so intrigued by what lied beyond the forest, imagining a great castle just over the hill, and had kept the photo as my desktop background for some time before I lost it in the deep recesses of the Internet. But I never forgot it and the question still lingers: “What lies beyond?”

Photo by Oliver Morris 2011

Photo by Oliver Morris 2011

The same question haunts me when I see Oliver’s photo, but instead of wondering what lies beyond the forest, I wonder what lies within. I feel a personal connection to this girl, separated from the forest by a pane of glass. What would it be like to throw aside all my inhibitions and step out into the unknown? It’s a wilderness out there. What adventures might await me? I feel a bit afraid and excited too, and I think this may be because God is out there somewhere, because he always calls us to follow him into new and unfamiliar places so that we might rely on him.

Leave a Reply

