Flying South

Image

© Kiersten Gazelka, 2013

Driving up the gravelly road to my house, I listened to the strange noises indicating that once again, something was wrong with my car, and it was probably more than an alignment issue, but I was better at diagnosing people than cars. But today I heard something else that made me look up to the pale autumn sky. Hundreds of birds flew overhead, and hundreds more dotted the naked trees to the east, a cacophony of chirps and squawks cleanly slicing through the chilly air.

“It’s a little late to be heading south,” I thought, remembering the layer of frost that had covered the fields a few days prior. Some states had already gotten snow this year, and I was surprised Minnesota had held out this long.

I will miss the birds, but I’m glad they stayed around as long as they did!

2 responses to “Flying South

Leave a Reply

