Reckless Abandon

NaNoWriMo begins in 10 days!!!

National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to creative writing.Β On November 1, participants begin working towards the goal of writing a 50,000-word novel by 11:59 p.m. on November 30. Valuing enthusiasm, determination, and a deadline, NaNoWriMo is for anyone who has ever thought fleetingly about writing a novel.

(http://nanowrimo.org/about)

I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo for more than 6 years but can only remember crossing the finish line at 50,000 words once (5 years ago) so I decided to blog about my novel this year with hopes of connecting with fellow novelists who can support me, encourage me, and give me the extra oomph I need to complete my novel!

Image from Google

Image from Google

So far I’ve recruited my sister who, like me, has a tendency to go strong in the beginning and then fizzle out by the end of week one. We took Chris Baty’s advice decided to give ourselves incentives to complete our novels this November (more like punishments for not meeting our word quotas at the end of each week). We also read tidbits from his book No Plot? No Problem! and try to constantly remind each other that contrary to reason, writing in November is about quantity, not quality. It is about reckless abandon and not caring that our novels are undernourished, sickly things filled with characters who are even more lost than ourselves and a random assortment of ideas that don’t even remotely resemble a plot.

But as the negro spiritual goes, “I’m pressing on.”

Image from Chris Baty's No Plot? No Problem!

Image from Chris Baty’s No Plot? No Problem!

Give me a shout out if you’re a NaNoWriMoer too!

8 responses to “Reckless Abandon

  1. I am going to be participating in NaNo this year and i am so stoked! I’ll have a blog post up soon on it. I hope you win and i’ll definitely be looking out for more of you posts πŸ˜€ Good luck. πŸ˜€

    • Awesome! Please do stay in touch! I would love to hear any ideas you have on writing (storyline, motivation, anything). My name on the nano website is Excelsiorrr. Feel free to add me if you’d like πŸ™‚ Have you done nano before?

      • I’ve done it once before and i failed EPICALLY 😦 Hopefully this year will be different. Will be sure to keep in touch. I have added you as a buddy on nano and i hope we can encourage each other during this process πŸ˜€ If you have a twitter, feel free to give it to me and i’ll follow you πŸ™‚

  2. I’m going to NaNo this year. It will be my first time participating! Luckly, I have a very active writing group and we have weekly write-ins planned, as well as a night of writing dangerously (6 hours of straight writing). I’m really looking forward to this new challenge!
    Part of the big draw on WordPress, is that it is such a strong community. I’ve met quite a few other writers here and we talk fairly regularly. Its always a big help when you know people are waiting for and reading your posts. If you’re anything like me, I need those expectations to push me to finish.
    Best of luck this November! Can’t wait to see what you post throughout the process!

    • “…a night of writing dangerously.” I love that! I may have to implement a few of those lol
      I will gladly follow your progress and encourage you too in this great endeavor.
      Good luck to you as well!

  3. Hey, hey, another Nanoer!!! Thanks for checking out my blog.
    Can I add you to my buddy list?
    My name on the site is leolewis and I’ve been doing NaNo since 2005. I lost my first one, but won all the others.
    My motivation:
    1. I go to a lot of write-ins and participate in a lot of word wars. For some reason, I can completely shut out my inner editor when I’m competing for word counts.
    2. I’m highly motivated by all the free codes NaNo sponsors give out if you win. This year in particular, I’m looking forward to treating myself to Aeon Timeline at half off.

    • You most certainly can! I go by Excelsiorrr. I’m considering going to some write-ins this year and being more participatory in the nano community than I have been in the past (now that I am out of college and have finally settled in MN). I love writing and have been writing novels and short stories since grade school, and although I only remember crossing the 50k word finish line once during nano, I am a prolific writer (I wrote one novel that was well over 100k words) and a great motivator πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

