The Frozen North: Home Is Where The Heart Is

I cannot express how eager I am to move back to what I call “The Frozen North,” a place mostly known for its 10,000 lakes and ravaging winters, where the mosquito is jokingly called the state bird. It’s so easy to take a good thing for granted and focus on all its negative aspects instead of appreciating all the many wonderful things it has to offer!

It took me two years to realize that no amount of southern warmth and hospitality could replace my longing for Minnesota. My heart was lost long ago to Minnesota’s woods and lakes. The sound of a loon in the dusk causes something deep within me to ache, and the stars seem so much clearer and brighter in the night sky. I love the crisp fall air and the crunching of leaves beneath my boots. I love being able to completely change out my wardrobe. I love wearing knee-high socks and scarves! November signals the beginning of NaNoWriMo and deer hunting season!

The first snowfall has always been my favorite day of the year, and I love listening to the cold wind howl in the night, blowing tendrils of snow across the treacherous roads, and how in the morning as I hurry, shivering, out to my car, I am a breathing dragon and the naked trees glitter like a thousand diamonds as the frost reflects the sunlight. Sometimes the temperature is well below zero or perfectly reasonable temperatures are made deadly by wind chill and so I grumble and complain and talk about all the wonderful things about Florida. But when I am inside by the warm fireplace, sipping on a coke (a cup of hot cocoa is so cliché and I am a cold beverages type of girl) and staring out at the snowy landscape, I cannot help but feel that Floridians are missing out on such a beautiful part of God’s creation. I can’t imagine having Christmas without snow.

I was recently hired for a critical care nursing position at a hospital in the Twin Cities, so I will be moving back up to Minnesota later this month! I feel so happy and blessed to have this opportunity to move back home and work at what I believe will be a great hospital. I have always referred to Minnesota as “home” when talking to other people even during the years I lived away. It is true what they say that home is where the heart is!

Here are a few pictures (re-posted) of my home.

4 responses to “The Frozen North: Home Is Where The Heart Is

  1. I lived in Minneapolis for 6 months when I was a kid and longed for eleven years to come back before I finally graduated college. I’m now living back in downtown Minneapolis, and I’m so happy to be back! Welcome home!

Leave a Reply

