Forgotten Dreams

I carried you and cradled you

And sang sweet lullabies to you

I gave you life and nourished you

I would do anything for you

You were my dream, my precious hope

Without you I could not cope

At times when I fell off the boat

I didn’t drown; you were my rope

But I got older, sad to say

And put you on a shelf one day

I tucked you, neatly, far away

Thinking I’d come back someday

But seasons passed and I grew old

The somber days grew long and cold

I could no longer be consoled

For deep regret alas took hold

I must find the dream that I forgot

Buried in a dusty cobwebbed slot

To again consume my every thought

Or all my life will have been for naught

~Kiersten Anna

wallpaper_nature_119-1680x1050

photo from Google

Leave a Reply

