Ripples into Eternity

tumblr_l598kz4sk81qbnt8vo1_500_large

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” ~Mother Teresa

Nine year old Wuthipong sends me pictures of dinosaurs and superheros from Thailand. Before sixteen year old James joined the Rwandan army, he told me how happy he was that I chose “to be his parent” out of all the other children.  Eight year old Claurin draws me a sun rising over the Indonesian mountains, and eight year old Yayra writes to me from Togo, one of the world’s poorest countries where over 1/3 of the population lives on less than $1.25 per day.  She tells me she dreams of becoming a doctor someday.

I sometimes get discouraged when I see the overwhelming need and suffering in the world. What can one girl do to make a difference? But then I remember that God is not asking me to change the world. He is simply asking me to follow the dreams he has placed in my heart and know that each act of kindness will cause a ripple effect that will reach far more lives than I could have ever dreamed possible. The ripple effects of our actions continue even after we are gone, extending on into eternity, and God alone knows the full impact our lives made on earth.

I hope to someday be able to sponsor a child from every third world country! I believe that God will give me an “overabundance” so that I may be a blessing to others (Matthew 25:29).

5 countries so far!

Five countries so far! Map from http://www.ammap.com/visited_countries/

“Honor the Lord with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine” (Proverbs 3:9-10).

Leave a Reply

