Heaven: Further Up and Further In

I imagine heaven will be like Further Up and Further In, the final chapter of The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis. I will be very surprised to find how similar heaven is to my world and stunned at how much more beautiful it is… far more beautiful than anything I could have ever imagined…

The distant mountain peaks will knife the sky with rigid clarity, blanketed in a heavy mist. Fields of wildflowers and an endless rolling sea of wheat will border the lush green forests that drip from the mountains, and the moon will bathe the land in a silver glow, causing shadows to skip through the fields. I will remember sitting outside with my cousin, our backs against the house, and marveling at how the clouds above looked like hay bales as cigarette smoke danced upon the breeze. I will lie in the soft grass and watch fireflies swim in the sky, the planets so close I could almost touch them, and I will dig my toes into the sand, listening to waves crash upon the shore.

I will love the falling rain that streaks the world in a blue haze, for those days had always reminded me of God’s love for me when I lived on Earth. I will breathe in the crystalline sea and fly in the cobalt sky. I will know no limitations. My home will be the open spaces – my bed the grass, my roof the sky, four walls made out of air. I will rest, but never sleep, for I only have eternity to experience everything – is it enough time? I will never grow old. I will have regrets about my life, but only for a moment. All my dreams will come true. I will love and be forever loved.

I will be reunited with my family and friends, and I will meet millions of other people who were also friends of God. I will get to spend all of eternity getting to know them! I will meet the object of my heart’s affection, and he will wrap me in his embrace. For the first time I will feel complete as his perfect love washes over me. Suddenly I will realize that all of heaven’s beauty emanates from this man, for his smile lights the clouds on fire and his laugh…

We will reminisce about our moments together on Earth, and he will not skip over the bad parts like I wish he would… but he will forgive each transgression and then will never speak of it again. But he will constantly relive the best parts of our story, so proud of all the times I put him first in my life, even when it wasn’t easy, and deeply touched by all the times I loved him in return.

I would be content to stay on the outer fringes of heaven forever and drink in the beauty, but I will know that if I continue to move further up and further in to heaven, the beauty will grow that much deeper, and I will be irresistibly drawn to the mountains, compelled to know what lies further in…

“All their life in this world and all their adventures had only been the cover and the title page: now at last they were beginning Chapter One of the Great Story which no one on earth has read: which goes on for ever: in which every chapter is better than the one before.”

~C.S. Lewis

What do you think heaven will be like?

One response to “Heaven: Further Up and Further In

Leave a Reply

