The Voice of Love

What is this sweet music

Beckoning me closer

I am irresistibly

Attracted to its whisper

Drawn like a moth to flame

By its magnetic pull

Though I know the dangers that await

I cannot turn away

Intrigue fills every part of me

As light colors my vision

Gravity loosens its hold

At the moment of decision

“Tread lightly,” they say, “be careful,

Listen to the words it sings

Before the voice goes silent

For love is a flighty thing

Leaving a trail of broken hearts

And misery in its wake

The wounded souls of millions

And you too it will forsake”

But I know there is no fear in love

And these lies I won’t abide

For it can breathe on ashes,

And make me come alive inside

Love is as strong as death, it is

Unyielding as the grave

A blazing fire that can’t be quenched

By any tidal wave

Fear not love, but fear its absence

Barren walls made out of stone

For any heart that cannot love

Will always be alone

For love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave. It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame. Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot sweep it away. ~King Solomon

Leave a Reply

