Learning to be Content

It seems discontentment has become pandemic among first world countries, or perhaps it has always been there inside all of us, a part of human nature, waiting to surface, and like a spark it does not wreak havoc until enough oxygen causes it to burst into flames. Why is it that the more I have, the more I want? Why does nothing seem to satisfy? Why can’t I ever have enough? Why can’t money buy me happiness and fill this ever growing void inside of me? What is the secret of being content no matter the circumstances?

One of my good friends recently told me to stop comparing myself to those who are better off than me, but to instead start comparing myself to those who are less fortunate than me, because then and only then would I learn to be content. When I started looking down instead of up, I learned that…

  • More than 1.6 billion people lack access to electricity and modern forms of energy.
  • The average person in the developing world uses a little more than 2.5 gallons of water each day for drinking, washing and cooking. Whereas the average person in the developed world uses 13 gallons per day only for toilet flushing.
  • Over 1.4 billion people in the developing world live below the poverty line (U.S.$1.25 per day).
  • More than 6 million children die from malnutrition each year.
  • One person in seven battles hunger every day.
  • An estimated 1.2 million children are trafficked worldwide every year.
  • Approximately 1.8 million children die each year as a result of diseases caused by unclean water and poor sanitation. This is around 5,000 deaths a day.

Facts About Poverty

Leave a Reply

